Editing a Pipeline Step
Written for the Old UI
This article was written for the old UI. The instructions are still usable, but the screenshots are outdated. In some cases, items referenced in the instructions have moved or changed. If you cannot find an item, see the Where Did It Go article.
Overview
You can edit any field in a pipeline step, including Name and Operation. Editing a step lets you make minor or major changes to your pipeline without rebuilding it. This article gives you general instructions for editing a step. For instructions on editing the fields for a specific operation, see the article for that operation.
Edit Validate Step
Change Values
Every field of a step can be edited, including the Name and Operation. For details on changing each field, see the article on the corresponding operation you are editing.
Change any of the step's fields.

If you are changing the Next Step section, see the following warning and review the Adding a Pipeline Step article.
Step Removal Warning
If a step has no paths to it, it will be automatically removed from the pipeline. This can occur, for example, if you insert a Validate step before a Deploy step and set both On pass and On fail to Stop. In this scenario, there is no longer a path to reach the Deploy step, and the pipeline automatically removes orphaned steps. See the diagram below to help visualize the issue.

Last updated
Was this helpful?


